Match Reports‎ > ‎

Horse and Jockey KIA Mid Tipperary Under 21 B Hurling Final - Moycarkey Borris 0-16 JK Brackens 0-13

posted 12 Nov 2017, 13:12 by Michelle Donnelly
The Ragg was the venue for the Horse and Jockey KIA Mid Tipperary Under 21 B Hurling Final. Having comprehensively defeated Moyne Templetuohy / Thurles Gaels in the Semi Final, Moycarkey Borris were looking forward to this game but were not underestimating their opponents JK Brackens Óg who defeated Upperchurch-Drombane in their Semi Final.

Sean Everard threw the sliothar in and from the start supporters knew there was a battle occurring as a ruck ensued with JK Brackens winning the ball. Within seconds JK Brackens were awarded a free but they missed the opportunity of a point with the following free a missed chance as well. However, Moycarkey Borris were not that unfortunate and in the third minute Anthony McKelvey capitalised on Moycarkey’s free. Jordan Moloney, JK Brackens equalised in the following minute and in the sixth minute Lyndon Fairbrother put them in front with a pointed free. Moycarkey Borris’s Anthony McKelvey replied with three unanswered frees in the following minutes and as the quarter turned, Moycarkey led by two points. JK Brackens were unsettled until in the eighteenth minute Lyndon Fairbrother (free) and David O’Shea brought the score line back level. JK Brackens settled from this point on and Moycarkey had to step up their play. Another pointed free from Anthony McKelvey was traded with Lyndon Fairbrother’s keeping the side’s level. In the twenty fifth minute Moycarkey Borris’s Tom Hayes recorded their first point from play but Neil Quinlan neutralised this. The next point from play went to Jack Fallon putting Moycarkey ahead going in at the interval, Moycarkey Borris 0-7 JK Brackens 0-6.

It was all to play for in the second half and Moycarkey did that with three unanswered points in the first ten minutes from Anthony McKelvey (2, 1 free) and Jack Fallon. Lyndon Fairbrother added a point in the fourteenth minute to keep just three between the sides. The play had tightened up immensely and every ball was hard fought but Moycarkey managed to add a further two points from JJ Darmody and Anthony McKelvey (free) before Lyndon Fairbrother pointed a free for JK Brackens. Moycarkey had a four point cushion at this stage but there was to be a final burst from JK Brackens in the final five minutes which transpired to be ten when extra time was added. The sides traded two points each in the following minutes, Moycarkey’s from Jack Fallon and Kieran Cummins. But JK Brackens added a further two points from substitute Brian Roche reducing the margin to two points. The pressure was now on Moycarkey and Anthony McKelvey pointed as normal time finished. The next few minutes were critical as a three point margin could be easily wiped with a goal and this is what JK Brackens hoped to do. Anthony McKelvey pointed another free to stretch the lead to four but Paddy Cadell added a point of his own to bring the margin back to three. Moycarkey Borris’s backs were defending well but inevitably fouled a JK Brackens player. A free for JK Brackens followed and Moycarkey poured into the back line, the ball would deflect of a Moycarkey hurl to go over the line for a 65. From the 65 Moycarkey defended the short ball and managed to take control of it. The final whistle blew to the relief of the Moycarkey supporters who poured onto the field to congratulate the players. The final score Moycarkey Borris 0-16 JK Brackens 0-13.

Joe Kennedy, Mid Board Chairman presented the Moycarkey Borris Joint Captains, Chris McCullagh and Niall Heffernan with the Cup thanking both sides for a tremendous game. Chris McCullagh thanked John Kelly and his management team, supporters and the club for their support. Moycarkey Borris will proceed to the County Tipperary Semi Final in the coming weeks against the South champions.

Moycarkey-Borris Team – Rhys Shelly; Mikey Bergin, Eric Fanning, Kieran Kearney; Eoghan Hayes, Chris McCullagh, Rory Darmody; Niall Heffernan, Kieran Cummins (0-1); Joe Doran, Tom Hayes (0-1), Kevin O’Regan; JJ Darmody (0-1), Anthony McKelvey (0-10, 8 frees), Jack Fallon (0-3).
Subs used – Brian Maher for Joe Doran (53rd), Pat Whelan for Niall Heffernan (59th)

JK Brackens Team – Jack Kennedy; Jack Prout, Martin Delaney, Michael Egan; Tom Murphy, Paddy Cadell (0-2), Conor Sheedy; Mikey O’Meara, Eanna McBride; Jordan Moloney (0-1), David O’Shea (0-2), Radek Natkaneicz; Neil Quinlan (0-1), Lyndon Fairbrother (0-5, 4 frees), Steven Quinlan.
Subs used – Brian Roche (0-2) for Steven Quinlan (41st)

Referee – Sean Everard, Moyne Templetuohy