Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tipperary Water County Minor A Hurling Championship Final - Roscrea 3-12 Moycarkey-Borris 0-14

posted 8 Oct 2017, 08:40 by Michelle Donnelly
By Ed Donnelly
Roscrea are the 2017 County Minor A Hurling Champions after a deserved seven point victory over Moycarkey-Borris at a packed Templemore on Saturday.

Moycarkey-Borris made the better start with two quick points from Bill Maher and Anthony McKelvey. However, Roscrea soon got in to their stride and began to lay siege to the Moycarkey-Borris goal. The North champions managed to score five of the next six points of the game with Glenn Loughnane, Owen Tynan, Luke Cashin and Jason Gilmartin getting in on the scoring act to leave Roscrea in front by 0-5 to 0-3 after 13 minutes.

Roscrea should have been more in front but for hitting six wides in the opening quarter. After being out of the game, Moycarkey-Borris eventually got in to the stride and scored four points on the trot to lead by 0-7 to 0-5 after 21 minutes. A minute later, Roscrea’s general superiority was finally reflected on the scoreboard when Vladislav Bodros caught a high ball on the edge of the square, turned and finished to the net to give Roscrea the lead.

Roscrea added the next two points before Moycarkey-Borris finished the first half scoring with a long range Anthony McKelvey free to leave the half-time score 1-7 to 0-8 in favour of Roscrea. The first half wide count was 8 to Roscrea and 1 to Moycarkey-Borris.

The Mid champions began the second half in better form and two quick points brought the sides level after 33 minutes. The teams traded pointed frees a minute later before a seven minute period where the play was intense but no scores were recorded, mainly due to the outstanding tackling on both teams.

The next score was going to be crucial and so it proved when Vladislav Bodros scored his and Roscrea’s second goal in the 41st minute to put in side in front by 2-8 to 0-11. Moycarkey tried their best to get back in to the game but found the Roscrea goalkeeper Graham Fahy in good form as he made two top-class saves from firstly Darren Flood and then Max Hackett. Having kept their goal intact, Roscrea slowly but surely edged further in front and by the 55th minute, led by six points, 2-12 to 0-12.

Moycarkey-Borris added two points to reduce the deficit to four but after missing out on some earlier goal chances, the impressive Daniel Ryan ended this game as a contest when he finished a long solo run with a goal two minutes in to injury time. That would be the final score of the game and soon afterwards, referee John McCormack blew for full-time and Roscrea were crowned champions.

Afterwards, County Board Chairman Michael Bourke presented the cup to the Roscrea captain Stephen Carey. Despite hitting 12 wides during the hour, Roscrea were fully deserving winners with their work rate, in particular in defence putting any Moycarkey-Borris player in possession under serious pressure. Roscrea also had a more balanced team with eight players scoring from play. On the other hand, Moycarkey-Borris had just five scorers from play with Anthony McKelvey scoring 10 of their 14 points.

Despite this County Final disappointment, Moycarkey-Borris can be encouraged by their campaign, securing tight wins over JK Brackens and Holycross to win the Mid before accounting for Moyle Rovers in the County Semi-Final. On this occasion, Moycarkey-Borris simply lost to the better team and there is no disgrace in that.

Moycarkey-Borris: Rhys Shelly; Peter Melbourne, Tom Ryan, Kieran Kearney; Kevin Hayes, Zach Jackson, Rory Darmody; Bill Maher (0-1), Jack Fallon (0-1); Max Hackett (0-1), John Kirwan, Shane Maher; Mark Heffernan, Anthony McKelvey (0-10, 0-7 frees), Darren Flood (0-1)
Subs: Diarmuid Maher, Jack Hackett, David O’Donnell